History of Sonoma County Junior College District

Santa Rosa Junior College (SRJC), founded in 1918, is the tenth oldest two-year community college in California’s 116 publicly funded community college system. From its initial freshman class of 19 students, SRJC has grown to be one of the largest single college districts in the country, the Sonoma County Junior College District.

With 14 major high school districts in its borders, SRJC’s district encompasses more than 1,600 square miles, stretching from the southern portion of Mendocino County in the north to the northern tip of Marin County in the south. It is bordered to the west by the Pacific Ocean and to the east by Napa and Lake counties.

The District operates two campuses in Sonoma County: a 100+-acre campus in the heart of Santa Rosa, and a 40-acre campus in Petaluma. The District also operates a regional Public Safety Training Center in Windsor and a 365-acre self-supporting farm near Forestville and a center for noncredit and adult education opportunities in Southwest Santa Rosa.  Each semester, classes are also offered at dozens of locations throughout the District. 
SRJC offers a strong general education program for students planning to transfer to four-year colleges and universities and more than 200 Career Education programs designed to prepare students for careers in the workforce. The College grants Associate in Arts (AA), Associate in Arts for Transfer (AA-T), Associate in Science (AS) and Associate in Science for Transfer (AA-T) degrees.
In the course of its 104-year history, Santa Rosa Junior College has had only five Superintendent/Presidents: Floyd P. Bailey (1921–1957), Randolph Newman (1957–1970), Roy Mikalson (1971–1990), Robert F. Agrella (1990-2012) and the current Superintendent/President, Dr. Frank Chong, who was hired in 2012.
The Sonoma County Junior College District serves more than 37,000 students each year, attracting students from throughout the state as well as from over 41 countries.